What do your displays look like?

img_0122

I have experimented with a range of displays over the last 5/6 years… here are some examples of my displays and my thoughts on what works and what doesn’t.

The displays in my room are used for a range of purposes,but mainly:

  • To support/inform
  • To engage
  • To show off
  1. In a recent staff meeting their was a conversation/debate/argument as to the percentage of classroom display that should be used to display pupil work. I decided to resort the the ever faithful #primaryrocks crew and post a twitter poll…

70% of the voters felt a 50/50 split of pupil work vs reference/challenge activities/working wall. 10% of voters feeling the displays should be 80%+ pupil work.

My humble opinion is that in the classroom it should be 50/50 or even less pupil work – the corridors in your schools should be filled with pupil work but the classroom should be a balance of celebration and scaffolds/prompts supports to promote independent learning and encourage children to problem solve in the environment in which they work – without shooting a hand in the air or coming to the teacher straight away. That said working walls and frequently changed displays are needed … one of my pet hates is walking into a room and seeing lists and lists of high frequency words or synonyms for ‘said’ hanging from the ceiling or 6ft+ above the display boards, laminated so the light reflects off them- with dust around the edge. The reason this is a pet hate is that they turn into wallpaper! Too often displays stay up for so long children become immune to the messages/information on them. If the children don’t notice them – they are not working anymore. if the children don’t use them – they don’t work anymore.

Below are some of my current/favourite displays – I would love to see images of your displays or hear your opinions in the comment boxes below. These are my ramblings – not the facts about primary displays.

 

My Latest Maths Display:

This display is split into four sections, vocab section linked to the four operations, a target section where the children move their face dependent on which timestables the children are learning, a place value poster (we currently need this for reference) and a challenge board. I add two challenges each week and the children answer with post stick notes.

maths-display

Aspiration Tree or Similar

Last year I had an aspiration tree for the pupils in my class… this year we have balloons – reaching for the sky – a little bit S-Club 7 but we love it all the same! Behind each balloon are two things that the children want to work towards achieving this year.

Time display – credit Kathryn Chinchen

Unfortunately I cant take any credit for this – it popped up on my twitter feed and I emailed it straight to my brilliant TA who is in the process of helping me recreate it!

 

Geography Display

Below is my Y3 geography display, showing the work my class completed using ordiance survey maps, comparing and contrasting urban and rural locations as well as identifying and labeling a range of OS symbols.

 

img_4246

The Paragraph Burger. This beaut speaks for itself!

Weekly Exit Tickets- what have you been learning about this week?


My Year 5 class completed these weekly exit tickets during Friday form time as a way of reviewing and reflecting on their week. Exit tickets in each lesson can be difficult in the primary classroom but weekly/daily are manageable!
Map of Frace – Produced by the kids.

Children worked in pairs to research an present on a region of France … the presentations could take any chosen form but they had to complete their piece of the huge France jigsaw (4ft by 3ft) for the wall – a great visual reminder and stimulus.

Find out more:

If your keen to find out more, from people that can write more elequnetly than I, check out the following blogs… @learningspy, @HuntingEnglish and Ian Addison.

 

 

image-1

 

 

Leave a Reply

